How To Eat Taco Bell When You're Counting Calories
Life is all about choices. One day you might be craving a Chalupa Supreme, but the next you might be looking for something lower in calories. That’s why over the past few years we’ve been focused on creating a menu with balanced options fit for anyone’s lifestyle. Vegetarian* options? We’ve got ‘em. Trying to avoid gluten**?? We’ve got you covered. Lower calorie options? You’ve come to the right place (but yes, we’ve got ‘em).
Did you know that nearly ¾ of our menu items are less than 500 calories? And if you’re looking to cut more calories, we suggest ordering your item “Fresco style”. Almost any menu item can be customized “Fresco style”, which replaces items typically higher in calories and fat, like mayo-based sauces, cheeses, and reduced-fat sour cream with freshly prepared diced tomatoes. With this quick customization tool, you can reduce calories and fat by up to 25%. Mind = blown.
Here are a few of our favorite menu items that with just a few customizations, are perfect for anyone counting their calories. All 350 calories or less:
1. Burrito Supreme sub chicken for beef, ‘Fresco Style’
2. Crunchy Taco "Fresco Style"
3. Burrito Supreme sub steak for beef, ‘Fresco Style’
4. Fresco Bean Burrito
5. Fresco Soft Taco with beef
If you’d like to order a menu item “Fresco Style”, just ask for it “Fresco Style” at one of our restaurants, or order it online at Ta.co or on our mobile app. When ordering online or through the mobile app, simply select your menu item and then select “Make It Fresco”.
Hungry for more? Check out Taco Bell’s Nutrition Calculator. The Nutrition Calculator gives you nutrition facts in seconds and is so easy to use. All you have to do is choose your meal then add or remove ingredients to meet your lifestyle needs. The calculator updates instantly making it easier for you to find out how many calories are in your custom meal.
*Taco Bell’s Vegetarian food items are certified by the American Vegetarian Association, and are lacto-ovo, allowing consumption of dairy and eggs but not animal byproducts. We may use the same frying oil to prepare menu items that could contain meat. Vegetarian and meat ingredients are handled in common, and cross contact may occur, which may not be acceptable to certain types of vegetarian diets. Neither Taco Bell®, our employees, our franchisees nor the AVA assume any responsibility for such cross contact.
**Taco Bell does not claim “gluten-free” for any of its food. Some Taco Bell items are made without gluten containing ingredients, but are prepared in common kitchen areas, including common fryer oil, risking gluten exposure. Taco Bell does not recommend products for people with celiac disease. People with gluten intolerances or sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering. Talk to your healthcare professional about what Taco Bell items are right for you.