2018-E8-GlutenFree-Article-Hero-Image-2.jpg
Back to Stories

How To Eat Taco Bell When You’re Avoiding Gluten

*Adds Power Menu Bowl to cart*

If you’re trying to avoid gluten, cutting it out of your diet may seem like a daunting task. And when you’re on-the-go, it can make the process even more challenging. But don’t worry - we’ve got your back. When it comes to food sensitivities or allergies, we want to make sure you’ve got options.

But can we rewind for a second? What exactly is gluten? Gluten is a common name for the protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. Unfortunately, this protein affects people in different ways, and not everyone can enjoy these foods without experiencing some side effects. There is a broad spectrum of gluten intolerance, including celiac disease, intolerances, and sensitivities, and people may be limiting gluten for different reasons. Luckily, there are ways to avoid or limit gluten, so you don’t have to completely give up the food you love to eat (like Taco Bell, obviously). Talk to your healthcare professional about what Taco Bell items are right for you.

Here’s our 10 favorite Taco Bell items when you’re trying to avoid gluten:

Menu Items Made Without Gluten

1. Power Menu Bowl - Chicken, Steak, or Veggie? You choose.

2. Black Beans and Rice

3. Crunchy Taco with Shredded Chicken (P.S. You can even make it Supreme.)

4. Hash Brown

5. Spicy Tostada

6. Chips & Pico de Gallo, Guacamole or Salsa

7. Doritos Locos Tacos with Shredded Chicken - You choose your shell (Cool Ranch, Fiery or Nacho Cheese.

8. Pintos n Cheese

Didn’t see your favorite menu item above? Check out the complete list of ingredients made without gluten below or play around with our allergen tool here to see which menu items best suit your needs.

Also, if you have a favorite, customized Taco Bell order made without gluten, share it with us using #TacoBellMenuHacks.

Taco Bell® does not claim “gluten-free” for any of its food. Some Taco Bell® items are made without gluten containing ingredients, but are prepared in common kitchen areas, including common fryer oil, risking gluten exposure. Taco Bell® does not recommend products for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering.